Day Two – New Perceptions

Posted: October 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Inspirational intercultural evening resulted with some of our new friends being a little bit lagged this morning. We went to the working room carrying hopes in great results of program planned for today’s working sessions, and our two new facilitators, Ana and Nikoleta.

Program for the day was successfully fulfilled and we gathered new perceptions on poverty as a global issue through a valuable taught which our facilitators shared with us, but also those we shared amongst the team.

Our assignment, to bring photos of poverty in our countries raised up some valuable exchange of opinions when it comes to different views on poverty and how the art can be used as a tool of its reduction. Diversity of our group proved to be valuable contribution to reach an aim of understanding different concepts and perceptions of poverty.

Free time for health activities…

And finally, free night is on to enjoy hospitality of local bars and blow some steam of…

Mladen

Interviews about first impressions

Jovan, tell us what do you expect from the night out in Becej?

I expect to listen good music in a pub. I was already in a pub, it is not a new experience to me-and I liked it, people are friendly.

What new did you learn in these two days?

Meeting new culture, I learned that Italy is very similar to Serbia, that Northern Ireland is much richer than I thought. I learned that Poland has great vodka and that there is exactly 15 000 000 people living in Istanbul. I would love to live in Italy because we have similar mentality.

Jovan, Serbia

Sima, how are you going to spend your free evening in Becej?

I will just check my email and rest. I don’t want to go out but next time I will be a party girl.

And than out of blue, Sima shared a valuable information with us: Italian mothers are like Turkish mothers – they are always controlling their sons, you know.

Sima, Turkey

We had a very interesting conversation with Utku. This is his very first international project and he is very interested to develop similar projects in turkey. We say-go for it Utku!


How do you find Becej?

Becej is like a middle European city, because you know it has houses with two floors and very regular streets, corners, trees. It is different than Belgrade but it reminds me of old town in Lausanne. Here is more traditional comparing to Novi Sad. Also I don’t know Novi Sad but I can imagine Novi Sad and I think it reminds of Belgrade. We will ask Utku again to compare Novi Sad and Belgrade since on friday we are having an excursion to Novi Sad. I think he will be surpised 🙂

What message do you have for people in Serbia?

As a Turkish I can say that Serbian people are the same as Turkish people. I believe that we are the same nation and why do we have two countries!? People in Belgrade are more smiling than in other Balkan countries.

Utku, Turkey

and than finally the crucial question to Sati at 22:40h :

Sati, are we going out?

-Yes!!!!!

🙂

Yours Photo Message Team

Leave a comment